UBISOFT

Steep

Zikali realizes the original music of STEEP, video game of extreme sports having for framework the Alps, taking place in a huge open world, developed by Ubisoft Annecy.

The musical artistic direction consists of the encounter between a post-rock formation (drums, bass, guitars, synths), to which is added an orchestral dimension (strings, brass) and a set of original instruments (hang drum, duduk) that define the sound identity of the project.

Three contrasting colors to represent risk-taking, adrenaline, self-transcendence, action on the one hand; The immensity and strength of nature; As well as the personification of the mountain on the other hand.

The energy of the rider is represented by a modern and electric sound associated with the action; And the orchestra characterizes the different places (summits, narrow corridor or wide spaces) by the variety of its modes of play, bringing a strong emotional dimension.

The sound identity, by the way, is found throughout the soundtrack, by the use of the hang drum to which we wanted to give an important role because of its cool and captivating sounds; But also by the duduk (Armenian flute with hip) which possesses a special faculty of expressivity because of its proximity to the human voice, and invites to escape. The singing and harmonic glasses of strings complete this workforce.

Our intervention
Dynamic Original Music 19x4mn

UBISOFT

Steep

Zikali réalise la musique originale de STEEP, jeu vidéo de sports extrêmes ayant pour cadre les Alpes, se déroulant en monde ouvert, développé par Ubisoft Annecy.

La direction artistique musicale est constituée de la rencontre entre une formation post-rock (batterie, basse, guitares, synths), à laquelle s’ajoutent à la fois une dimension orchestrale (cordes, cuivres), et un ensemble d’instruments originaux (hang drum, duduk) qui définissent l’identité sonore du projet.

Trois couleurs contrastées pour représenter la prise de risque, l’adrénaline, le dépassement de soi, l’action d’une part ; l’immensité et la force de la nature ; ainsi que la personnification de la montagne d’autre part.

L’énergie du rider est représentée par un son moderne et électrique associé à l’action ; et l’orchestre caractérise les différentes unités de lieux (sommets, couloir étroits ou grands espaces) par la variété de ses modes de jeu, en apportant une dimension émotionnelle forte.

L’identité sonore quant à elle, se retrouve tout au long de la BO, par l’utilisation du hang drum auquel nous souhaitions donner un rôle important de part ses sonorités froides et envoûtantes ; mais aussi par le duduk (flûte arménienne à hanche) qui possède une faculté d’expressivité toute particulière de part sa proximité avec la voix humaine, et invite à l’évasion. Les verres chantants et harmoniques de cordes viennent compléter cet effectif.

Notre intervention
Musique originale dynamique 76mn